PIC FIC: Sleep Tight Farm: A Farm Prepares for Winter by Eugenie Doyle, Becca Stadtlander

November: Young Reader Pick

This picture book follows a farm as it prepares for winter harvesting, canning, storing and winter protections. ┬áThe lyrical prose and colorful illustration combine to create an new classic, for fans of The Little House, and Miss Rumphius. – Robin

A captivating exploration of how a family gets a farm ready for the snow of winter, Sleep Tight Farm lyrically connects each growing season to the preparations at the very end of the farm year. This beautiful and informative book paints a fascinating picture of what winter means to the farm year and to the family that shares its seasons, from spring’s new growth, summer’s heat, and fall’s bounty to winter’s well-earned rest. All year long the farm has worked to shelter us, feed us, keep us warm, and now it’s time to sleep.

Posted in Staff Picks